browser Warning Icon You are using an older version of Internet Explorer. You are viewing this site with limited functionalities.
Sector Primer Series: Information Technology Dive deep into the S&P 500's Information Technology sector.
BY Louis Bellucci

Developed in 1999 and jointly managed by S&P Dow Jones Indices and MSCI, the Global Industry Classification Standard® (GICS®) assigns companies to a single classification at the sub-industry level according to their principal business activity using quantitative and qualitative factors, including revenues, earnings, and market perception. The sub-industry is the most specific level of the four-tiered, hierarchical industry classification system that includes 11 sectors, 24 industry groups, 69 industries, and 158 sub-industries, as of Dec. 31, 2018.

Companies primarily engaged in Software & Services, Technology Hardware & Equipment, and Semiconductors & Semiconductor Equipment are classified into industry groups that make up the Information Technology sector. It includes, but is not limited to, companies that develop and produce software, manufacture electronic equipment and instruments, provide commercial electronic data processing, and manufacture semiconductors and related products, as well as those that manufacture communication equipment and products including LANs, WANs, routers, telephones, switchboards, and exchanges.

Download Full Article (397K)

Sign up for email updates

Get our latest insight on the markets.

Thank you for subscribing!