browser Warning Icon You are using an older version of Internet Explorer. You are viewing this site with limited functionalities.
Sector Primer Series: Health Care Get a closer look at the Health Care sector within the S&P 500.
BY Louis Bellucci

Developed in 1999 and jointly managed by S&P Dow Jones Indices and MSCI, the Global Industry Classification Standard® (GICS®) assigns companies to a single classification at the sub-industry level according to their principal business activity using quantitative and qualitative factors, including revenues, earnings, and market perception. The sub-industry is the most specific level of the four-tiered, hierarchical industry classification system that includes 11 sectors, 24 industry groups, 69 industries, and 158 sub-industries, as of Dec. 31, 2018.

The Health Care sector comprises companies primarily engaged in Health Care Equipment & Services, Pharmaceuticals, Biotechnology, and Life Sciences.

Download Full Article (385K)

Sign up for email updates

Get our latest insight on the markets.

Thank you for subscribing!